Good things

Screen shot 2015-12-04 at 14.43.54

This news isn’t exactly new, since I received it over the summer, but it’s worth sharing since it is a Very Good Thing. I am very happy to have been chosen as one of 36 recipients of the inaugural Public Scholar grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities. Now I have to live up to the intended purpose of the grant: to promote the writing of ‘popular’ scholarly books.

I am hoping to do that, with a topic that is of more interest (I also hope) than even Isaac Newton, the history of how scientists have studied the waters of the globe. This means glaciers, ocean waves, eddies and currents, and the invisible water vapor in the atmosphere (the strongest greenhouse gas of them all). I’ll try to keep things updated here on how I’m progressing. This coming week I’m looking forward to attending a conference at the Royal Society on ocean trace element chemistry.

The photograph above was taken by Charles Piazzi Smyth in 1856 atop a volcanic peak on the island of Tenerife during an expedition to prove that mountain astronomy was possible, desirable and even, occasionally, fun.

Leave a Reply

